Dispute logo

Products

Learn

Wakefield Taylor Courthouse Small Claims - Martinez, CA

Courthouse in Contra Costa County, CA

Last updated at 2022-08-24T16:35:06.798Z

Important information

Courthouse info

Address

725 Court Street, Martinez CA 94553

Court fees

Up to $100

Contact info

Mailing Address

725 Court Street, Martinez CA 94553

Filing info

Average days to process

2-10 business days


What Are Some Reasons for Filing a Suit in Contra Costa County Small Claims Court?

  1. Car Accidents
  2. House damage
  3. Settle disputes with contractors

Learn more about the Contra Costa small claims court by visiting this website.

How Much Time Is Required to File a Small Claims Lawsuit in Contra Costa County?

The specific amount of time it takes to file a small claims lawsuit in Contra Costa small claims court can vary. You will typically have a fairly easy time filling out these forms. In general, you will probably need one to two weeks.

What Are The Monetary Award Limits on Small Claims Lawsuits in Contra Costa County?

The most money you can sue for in Contra Costa County small claims court as an individual is $10,000.

You cannot file more than two actions in small claims court for greater than $2,500 in the state of California during one calendar year. The $2,500 limit refers to two actions that are each worth more than $2,500.

What Fees Do You Have to Pay to File a Small Claims Lawsuit in Contra Costa County?

  • If the claim is worth $1,500 or less, the filing fee is $30.
  • The fee is $50 for claims that are greater than $1,500 but equal to or less than $5,000.
  • Claims for greater than $5,000 require you to pay a $75 filing fee.

If you file more than 12 small claims court actions in California during 12 months, the filing fee for every action after the 12th action is $100. You also have to pay for serving costs, ranging from $0-75 for each person you sue.

What Can You Expect in Your Court Hearing?

You should expect to go to the hearing in person. Lawyers are not allowed at the first small claims court hearing. You should also expect the hearing to be scheduled within between 30 and 70 days of the case's filing. You have to serve the small claims lawsuit to the defendant at least 15 days prior to the hearing if they live in Contra Costa County. If the defendant resides outside of Contra Costa County, you have to serve them the lawsuit at least 20 days prior to the hearing.

How Do You Make Preparations for the Hearing?

You should conduct thorough research on the law. After that, you should get all of your evidence ready. You should also prepare what you will say beforehand.

You can prepare by getting all of the receipts for costs ready. You should inform the judge that you want to be reimbursed for these costs. Also, make sure that you make a sufficient number of copies of all your evidence. You have to have a minimum of three copies: one for the judge, one for you, and one for the opposition.

FAQs about Small Claims Court

Q: Can you appeal if you lose your case in small claims court?

A: This depends on your state of residence. The plaintiff cannot appeal the case in the state of California, generally speaking. In California, you can only appeal if you are the defendant in the case.

Q: Does the small claims court collect your money if you win the case?

A: No, the small claims court does not handle collection for you. You have to collect the money yourself if you win. You should also consider whether the other person will be able to pay you.


Other courthouses in Contra Costa County

George D. Carroll Courthouse Small Claims - Richmond, CA

Related articles

How to find the right courthouse for your small claims case

Knowing where to file can be tough. Although you may be tempted to choose the courthouse closest to you, your case may not be accepted there.

· 5 min read